The Pattern Artist Series




Born into a life of hard work, English housemaid Annie Wood arrives
in New York City in 1911 with her wealthy mistress.

Wide-eyed with the possibilities America has to offer, Annie wonders if
there’s more for her than a life of service. Annie chooses to risk
everything, taps into courage she never knew she had, and goes off
on her own, finding employment in the sewing department at Macy’s.

While at Macy’s Annie catches the eye of a salesman at the Butterick
Pattern Company.

Through determination, hard work, and God’s leading, Annie
discovers a hidden gift: she is a talented fashion designer—a pattern
artist of the highest degree.

As she runs from ghosts of the past and focuses on the future, Annie
enters a creative world that takes her to the fashion houses of Paris
and into a life of adventure, purpose, and love.
                              1912 New York City

Annie Wood, the housemaid-turned-pattern designer her own
clothing line when a wealthy New York couple offer to finance her
endeavor. Joining the project is Annie’s new husband, Sean
Culver, her best friend at Butterick, Maude Nascato, and a mother
figure, Edna Holmquist.

Annie and her colleagues give up their careers, risking everything
to follow a shared passion: clothes that are both fashionable and
functional for modern, busy women in 1912.

Personal and financial setbacks threaten to keep the business
from ever selling a single dress and test old relationships and
new romances. No one said it would be easy. But the promise of
the American Dream holds a deep hope for those who work hard,
trust God, and never give up.
Just for fun: Enjoy a novella
that is a prequel
to The Pattern Artist Series!
Christmas Stitches
If you like Christmas, romance, historical settings, and stitchery...
you'll enjoy this novella collection I wrote with friends Stephanie
Grace Whitson and Judith Miller.

My novella is called, "Pin's Promise." The story details how the
young Annie Wood first got her start as a maid at Crompton Hall.  
The Pattern Artist Series